Spring is Blooming!

It’s definitely spring time around my neck of the woods! My wildflowers are shooting up and starting to bloom, the sun is shining, and the breeze is blowing. I’m hoping we have just enough rainy days to keep everything as green and beautiful as it is now.

signs of spring

Tiny shasta daisy seedling coming up

pink dianthus blooming

These pink dianthus have been blooming for a few weeks now

We’re seeing butterflies, birds, bees, and all kinds of insects everywhere! I heard that we’re going to be seeing a swarm of cicadas this year. It’s been 17 years since they’ve come out in full force. I hope it isn’t too bad! We have lots of fruit trees and I’ve heard that is what cicadas prefer.

companion garden patches fruit trees

Our garden tilled up into companion patches–you can see our fruit trees behind the garden!

butterfly eating nectar

Check out this pretty tiger swallowtail butterfly stopping by my wildflower garden for a snack!

Wildflowers are my favorite! They are all shooting up so fast out here. Some of them are blooming already. Before long, these beds will be full of vibrant, colorful flowers in different shapes and textures! I love how natural and earthy a wildflower bed looks.

yarrow

A patch of yarrow growing up

bachelor buttons

A bunch of bachelor buttons will be blooming here before long!

I know the names of lots of wildflowers that pop up, but some of them have me clueless. There is a really pretty variety of pink, white, and red flowers that come up every year in one of my wildflower beds. Do you know what it’s called? I haven’t a clue! If you know what it is, please let me know if the comments section. 🙂

mystery wildflower

What am I?

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on May 2, 2013, in Gardening, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

