Lucky Clovers All Over My Yard!

This spring our yard has exploded with clover patches. They are everywhere! Naturally, the presence of millions of clovers means that there are some four leaf shamrocks out there. Our family has been hunting for the lucky clovers ever since the patches sprouted this year.

 

Four-leaf Clover

Four-leaf Clover (Photo credit: dalcrose)

I have found so many lucky clovers that I have literally lost count. At one point I was up to 2 dozen four leaf clovers, but I have found so many more since then that I can’t remember how many now. At first I picked every lucky clover I found, but after finding dozens of them, I’ve been leaving them in the yard for someone else to find. Despite finding so many this year, I haven’t kept a single one–instead I have given all of them away.

 

Four leaf clover

Four leaf clover (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Friends and family are shocked at my seemingly “super human” ability to find four leaf clovers. Although I enjoy their awed expressions, I must admit that I have not seen a single four leaf clover since 2005. Suddenly they are everywhere this year! Does that mean 2012 will be a lucky year? I sure hope so! 😉

Oxalis sp.

Oxalis sp. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

All of these clovers made me wonder…why are four leaf clovers supposedly so lucky? Civilizations have considered them to be lucky charms and even magical. Four leaf clovers are traditionally white clovers that help ward off evil spirits and bad luck. Although we know now that the fourth leaf is simply a natural variation or mutation, it only occurs in 1 of every 10,000 clovers.

 

That means that finding a single four leaf clover is a 1 in 10,000 chance. Maybe I should be playing the lottery instead, especially considering how many lucky shamrocks I have found this week alone! I guess they were considered rare and lucky throughout history because of the slim chance of finding one.

Clover icon

Clover icon (Photo credit: Atlassian)

The Celts considered them special and assigned a meaning to each leaf. The 3 leaves on a normal clover symbolize faith, hope, and love. The fourth leaf symbolizes luck and is a good omen. The Irish tradition differs slightly because the shamrock represents the Holy Trinity. The 3 leaves represent the father, the son, and the holy spirit while the fourth leaf symbolizes God’s grace.

A five-leaf clover (Trifolium pratense)

A five-leaf clover (Trifolium pratense) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Although four leaf clovers are considered lucky, shamrocks with even more leaves are thought to be unlucky. I hope that’s not true because I’ve also been finding 5 and 6 leaf clovers! Have you ever found a clover with four (or more) leaves?

 

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on March 30, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Lucky you! Embrace the good luck. This confident and positive mindset would begin you more.

  2. I too find four leaf clovers very often. I have a collection of the ones I find and give them away to people who seem like they really need the luck. I find 5, 6, and even 7 leaf clovers also. I hope they aren’t unlucky because I give those away too. Haha.

Leave a Reply

