Today, I Am Thankful

It is important to step back and really think about the things in life that matter as often as you can. Although it can be incredibly easy to worry, fret, moan, complain, and become overly concerned with everything you DON’T have, it is absolutely imperative to be thankful for what you DO have.

some lucky clovers

A few of the 4 leaf clovers I found in our yard the other day

We are all blessed in some way. Take a moment to recognize your blessings and be thankful for them. Nobody has everything, and I mean NOBODY. Even the richest person in the world doesn’t have it all. There are things in life far more important than any material object.

my puppy

My trusty sidekick, Sage ❤

So, today I am thankful. I appreciate everyone and everything in my life.  Lately I have been fretting about money, I’ll admit that. We need money, but it isn’t everything. Sometimes I need to force myself to sit back and be thankful for the things I do have. It is healthy to consider life and view it in a positive way. When I consider these things, it is easy to see that I have a lot to be thankful for.

happy & healthy pony

I'm thankful our recent rescue is happy and healthy

We are blessed with good friends, family, a roof over our heads, food on the table, dogs that love us no matter what, horses that nicker at the sight of us, and cats that sleep on our heads. We have clothes, shoes, a ton of arts and crafts supplies, jewelry (and the ability to make more), toothbrushes, soap, coffee, chocolate, wide open spaces, random building materials, grass out the wazoo, and so much more. I am thankful for all of these things.

horse sign

We're lucky to be living out in the country

No matter what curveball is flying this way, things always work out for the best. Everything happens for a reason, somehow, someway, it will all work out. You may not know how, but have faith that it will. Life is too short for incessant worrying and griping. Look for the silver lining, the light at the end of the tunnel, the lesson to be learned each day. It can be hard to adopt this lifestyle, but once you have you will feel blessed no matter what happens.

tattoo idea I designed for my brother

I drew this as a tattoo design for my brother--but we are blessed to be native Southerners 😉

Our little family is blessed with love bursting at the seams, laughter louder than a sonic boom, and enough happiness to overflow the world’s oceans ten times over. Some days it is easy to become upset, angry, or grumpy…but despite those days, we still have what matters, and that is each other. In the end, that’s all that really matters.

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on March 25, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. It seems you’re passing on the blessing to us….through your pictures and this blog.

  2. How wonderful with rescue horses! Thank you for this marvelous post and news! Ann

Leave a Reply

