For the Love of Words

Love: The Elusive Four-Lettered Word

Love is such a small word in size, but its true meaning can move mountains. Many of you will probably agree that the word love has been overused, abused, and not really understood by youth. In fact, love can be quite difficult to define because of its elusive meaning. So, when I say that I love my husband, my children, my family and friends, or my animals, I mean something real. This is not the love that teenagers think they know. Love is more than a feeling, it is a way of life.

Barbed wire heart

Sketch of a barbed wire heart I drew in 2007

How Does One Measure Love?

On Valentine’s Day my husband tried (with great difficulty, might I add) to tell me how much he loves me. After a few moments of silence, he finally said that no one word can accurately describe our love. Well, I must agree! 😉 Part of the reason this is true is because the word love is so overused…here I go again. Hah! What is sad to me is that people attribute more meaning and passion to the word hate than they do love. People don’t talk about hating just anything, that is reserved for truly vile situations. By contrast, people croon love over last night’s spaghetti, the sunshine, lover, friends, and so many other things.

Original Art by Jeni

This is the card I drew for my husband on V-day this year ❤

So, there’s my spiel on that! I won’t bore you further with my disappointment in society’s definition of love. Moving on…

Love Words

The passion, vigor, romance, and feeling the word love is supposed to evoke seems more and more lost. So, here are a few of my favorite words that might help describe what love is to me and how I feel my love for others should be described.

Romance

Adore

Cherish

Treasure

Desire

Admire

Respect

Appreciate

Affection

Friendship

Loyalty

Devotion

Passion

Joy

Love and marriage

Sketch of hands w/ wedding bands inspired by Renaissance Art drawn by me

Powerfully Passionate

As you can see, love takes on many meanings to me, but my love for one is not necessarily the same as my love for another. There are many different kinds of love…perhaps that is why society has chosen to abuse this four-lettered word.

So what if this particular post was sappy and cheesy? Love is on my mind today! We are so very truly blessed, no matter what turbulence or drama is happening in everyday life. It is easy to get caught up in the day-to-day problems, issues, and annoyances.

art by Jeni

Pen & ink drawing by me...because I'm so lucky! 😉

Instead of thinking about the things that make you hurt, angry, upset, or annoyed, think instead of what you do have. Family, friends, the love of others, someone or something to cherish…look for the love, and you will find it. What do you think about that? 

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on February 21, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. it is good that you jurnal your life experience: It is a perfect medium for later revisits of the feelings you once had, and the tril they left for finding the way back…to the present. I like your barbed wire empossed heart. Now all you need is to find the right wire cutters and release it (but then I think you already have!)

  2. Thank you! I agree, that is partly why I love to write so much. The barbed wire heart is one of my favorite designs as well. 🙂 It was actually drawn by looking at a heart I twisted by hand out of barbed wire, which is hanging on my wall at home!

Leave a Reply

