So I’m Working on a Book…

I’ve been a storyteller for most of my life. Before I could write I drew stories! Now I spend a great deal of my time contemplating stories, writing, and book ideas for several age groups and genres.

So I'm Writing a Book... (Macro of red HB pencil peeking through a book)

Ever since I was a young child I have dreamed about writing a book. At the young age of 7 I started writing my first book on our family computer. It was a story about wild horses living on an island. The horses endured many adventures throughout my story. It was called, “The Rage Pony.”

Unfortunately some time ago that old computer crashed and all of the files were lost. It is sad because I worked on that story for many years as a child. I wish I could go back and re-read what my young mind had written. Anyway, I have always dreamed about being an author.

Recently I decided that I WILL become a published author. Lately I have been writing down concepts and trying to brainstorm new ideas for children’s books. I have lots of ideas and I can’t wait to turn each of them into a new, interesting book for kids!

I have written the text for my first book and am still working on completing the illustrations. For some reason I still can’t decide how I should color the pictures…should I use paint, pastel, colored pencil, or a combination? I just don’t know what would look best.

Maybe you can help! πŸ™‚ The story is about two fish, a big one and a little one. The big fish thinks the little fish is “just some little fish.” Upon hearing that, the little fish demonstrates to the big fish that he is unique and special, not just some little fish! What do you think would work best for coloring an underwater scene? I’m thinking bright, vibrant colors…

There are other books I have started writing as well. When I was a teenager I started many stories but never wrote any endings. I have a hard time with endings, hahah. Although I tried to write many short stories or novellas, I have not successfully finished one yet. Eventually I would like to publish my poems into a collection of poetry. Once I get a few children’s books finished I might be motivated and inspired to publish some of my older works.

Have you ever started writing something with the intention of publishing it one day? What do you prefer to write: stories, articles, essays, or poems?

Powered by Plinky

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on January 30, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I too would love to write a book someday…seeing to my interest in fiction, maybe something along those lines πŸ™‚
    Congratulations on your progress and good luck with seeing your first book published soon πŸ˜€

  2. Thank you fro liking my post! I feel good about that because you are an exceptional writer yourself! Good luck on your book! That will be so good for you to do. I hope it all pans out. I love when we take life by the hand and go for it! So important for many reasons.
    Blessings to you,
    Tara

Leave a Reply

