Reminiscing on My DIY Wedding

Last year in July I married the love of my life. We worked hard together to have the most wonderful, stunning, and amazing wedding we could on a budget. That meant a LOT of things were homemade, hand crafted, and generally DIY.

Today I am going to share some photographs of my wedding. I’m going to focus on things that were handmade. 🙂

Wildflower Altar

We grew the flowers, painted the pots, and set up all the rental chairs. It was stunning!

My husband and I worked so hard creating a beautiful ceremony site. Pictured above is our back yard; I cultivated a wildflower bed around our favorite tree. We put an old wheel barrow in the flower bed and planted lilies and little blue flowers inside.

Wildflowers

A closer view of the wheel barrow full of flowers in the middle of our wildflower bed.

Bouquets

These were the bouquets made the morning of the wedding.

My bridesmaids and I made these bouquets in the morning before the ceremony. We tied them with big blue tulle bows. The flowers came from one of the groomsmen, he had stunning wildflowers growing in his back yard. Although I tried to grow my own flowers for the bouquets, for some reason they didn’t grow very well. We ended up using the wildflowers and a few of them were purchased at the grocery store the day before.

Kid Table

The kid table had treat bags, toys, and activities.

The kids are checking out their special table for the reception. I set it up with crafting supplies, treat bags, and a paddle toy for each child expected to come. It was an inexpensive way to keep them entertained and they loved it!

Favor Table

I bought the supplies to make useful treat bags for the guests and stuffed them myself. I bought little snacks, packets of sunscreen, wet wipes, and other things people might need throughout the day on Minimus.biz. The fans were made on my computer with wedding party information on one side and some kind of game on the other side. I printed them and assembled them myself!

Head Table

All of the tables in the reception area were decorated similarly to the head table.

I collected glass jars for months so I could decorate them for the tables. We put wildflowers in the jars on the wedding day. Each table was decked out with a burlap runner, jar of flowers, flower pot with an herb (basil, thyme, marjoram, etc), and a citronella candle.

Flower Basket and Ring Holder

The flower girl basket and custom horseshoe ring holder

The flower girl basket began as a plain wicker basket I found in the closet and the ring holder started out as a plain old horseshoe. I decorated them with coordinating paint, ribbons, and fabric flowers.

Flower girl and Ring bearer

Evie threw flowers and Annabelle carried the rings

Annabelle and Evie strutted their stuff down the aisle in their handmade dresses (made by my Mom) and cute sun hats. I decorated the plain white hats with blue tulle and white fabric flowers that I made. They were so cute!

Husband and Wife

Us after the ceremony ❤

This picture was taken after the ceremony. I just love love love my dress! It was handmade just for me by a long time friend and mentor, Heather. I have blogged about her sewing custom Western show clothing and her brand “HeatherWear.” All of the boutonnieres and fabric flowers were made by me. I used a white fabric for the flowers and embellished them with blue ribbons and white, fluffly feathers. I also made the hair flowers in a similar fashion, but they were attached to combs.

Cake

Our stunning wedding cake!

Although the cake was made at a bakery, the cake topper was handmade. I also added blue butterflies to the knife set to coordinate with the cake. Those butterflies came from the dollar store! The horseshoe was painted blue, glitter-fied, and embellished with a pretty blue bow. It all came together so nicely!

Us

Us during the ceremony

In this picture you can see Eddie’s boutonniere a little bit. They all turned out awesome! My hair flower is peeking over my messy bun…you can only really see the feather part here. On the wedding day I did my own hair after watching YouTube videos for weeks. I also did my niece’s hair that morning! The jewelry was handmade, but not by me! I found it on Etsy and bought it from an artisan in Ireland.

So many things at my wedding were handmade or crafted. My dress, the kids’ dresses, all of the fabric flowers, decor for the tent, table decorations…it goes on and on. It was a lot of fun making everything and it really made our wedding so much more special and intimate!

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

