Artist at Heart

I’ve been an artist ever since I could hold a crayon. It just seems fitting that I make my living creating art.

Pencils

Graphite Pencils are one of my preferred mediums

I create for a living. It’s my only option right now…and I must say, I wouldn’t have it any other way. 🙂

About a year ago I resigned from my position as a mail carrier at the post office. It was kind of forced upon me and I did what I had to do. To this day I am thankful that things happened the way that they did. I wouldn’t be where I am today if things had gone differently!

For the past year I have been creating art and writing exclusively. I did not realize that I could make money doing these things until about 6 months ago…but now I know! 🙂

I consider writing an art. In many ways it is becoming a lost art because people don’t really write like they used to. I try to write every single day, even if it isn’t on here. There is always a poem, melody, story idea, or something in my head that must be written.

Image representing Triond as depicted in Crunc...

Image via CrunchBase

I make money writing on Triond (not much, but every little bit helps, right?) and I worked on Elance for about 4 months. It was great while it lasted, but I felt stifled by the writing tasks on Elance. There weren’t very many jobs that gave me creative freedom, which is ultimately why I stopped. Instead I decided to pursue creative writing with my children’s book ideas…and I’m continuing to write on Triond to keep money coming in.

In addition to writing, I also draw, paint, craft, and generally create art. Sewing is my newest hobby and I love it! I’m working on making saddle pads and other things I can either sell on eBay or consign at the tack store. Drawing is more time-consuming than anything else, especially because I lose track of time when I draw.

In the Fall of 2011 I drew an abstract picture of a woman in her wedding dress. She loved the drawing and planned to display it during her wedding reception. Otherwise most of my drawings are done for my own enjoyment.

Practice Sketch

Practice "Wedding Dress" Sketch 2011

When I feel compelled to draw, I let it out. Sometimes I draw for friends and family as gifts or favors. Right now I’m working on my first book’s illustrations. Once they are done I’ll be ready to publish! I’m so excited to see how this whole thing works out. 🙂

So you see, it is possible to survive as an artist. I am no sure how exactly it’s happening, but it is! I guess it helps that I supplement my artistic income with auctions on eBay…

If you had to make a living as an artist, how would you do it?

Powered by Plinky

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on January 18, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hey, thanks for the “like” on my “artist search” blog. It’s sad that not many people understand where I’m coming from. One woman’s critcism of me was that I would make money when I “sold” my comic off, so that’s why I should pay the artist ahead of time…but I don’t plan to sell it. We are going to put it online ourselves. However, even if I sold it, don’t you think it would be a GIVEN that we’d split profits anyway? LOL Saying “no money” doesn’t mean I won’t pay someone EVER. I just meant I couldn’t pay them myself. The artist will make money when the comic does…which is the same boat I’m in! At any rate, I’m glad at least one other person in the world understood me!

    • No problem, I enjoyed reading! 🙂 I hope you have enjoyed what you found here as well. I agree with you, it makes sense to find someone to work with and share your talents. It is unfortunate that your attempts with CL were flagged, but if you keep at it I am sure you will find someone! 🙂 Are you still looking for an artist, or did you find someone? Have you written anything on your comic yet? I’m happy to talk with another passionate writer–we are few and far between these days, LOL.

  2. I have written the entire comic. It isn’t meant to be a series that goes on indefinitely. Right now I am in the process of typing it out. I write everything by hand first because (1) it gives me a more personal, intimate feel, (2) I don’t have a laptop, and (3) even if I did, my supervisor at my job bugs out about people bringing in personal electronic items so I STILL would have to write the story out by hand first. (Some people get away with doing that…others don’t. The beauty of office politics and favoritism!) I’ve got a couple different options for artists that are up in the air right now. It all depends on three things: (1) who has the right talent to bring the material to life and (2) who actually has the amibtion to stick with it, and (3) who actually is good about staying in touch. A lot of people get fired up and say, “Yeah I want to be a part of this!” Then I never hear from them again. At any rate, I’d be glad to talk more about this and all the other writing I’m doing: WCman1976@yahoo.com

  3. parwatisingari

    If you hear a voice within you say “you cannot paint,” then by all means paint and that voice will be silenced.
    – Vincent Van Gogh
    In my case this comes with a postscript that says the voice is your art teacher!

  1. Pingback: Triond Blogging Platform « Happily Ever After 7.10.11

Leave a Reply

