More Than Just a Ring

Today I am thankful for my wonderful family.

They mean the world to me! Our home is full of love and happiness. Who needs money or material things when you have something so much more meaningful?

Each day I have a constant reminder of the love my family shares. All I have to do is look down at my wedding ring. It’s like a security blanket! Just looking at its simple beauty can make me feel better and reminds me of all the things I have to be thankful for.

Our rings are very special. They are not just a set of rings you can pick up at Sears or Kay Jewelers. No one else on this planet has one exactly like ours. Our wedding rings are just as unique as us!

Us

The Happy Couple! šŸ™‚

Eddie and I planned our wedding on a budget. We tried to DIY most of it, from the decor to the flowers and food. I even did my own hair! A great friend of mine, Heather (founder of HeatherWear), actually handmade my wedding dress for me. Perhaps the most special handmade thing of all came from a plain block of stainless damascus steel.

My father-in-law worked meticulously on the rings for weeks. He took that simple block of stainless damascus and turned it into two stunning rings. Our wedding rings came from the same block of steel. He even carefully inlaid a ruby into my ring for me!

Our Rings

Our Finished Rings ā¤

They are shiny, stunning, unique, indestructable, and (most importantly) made with love especially for us. I am so thankful that he was able to make our rings and that they turned out so beautifully.

Handmade Rings

Our Handmade Rings

When I’m feeling lonely, unproductive, sad, or scared, all I have to do is look down at the stunning ring on my left hand and remember how blessed I truly am.

Do you have anything like that in your life? Something simple that helps you stay strong?

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on January 4, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

