Time for a Leap of Faith!

Okay, so I’m really seriously thinking about doing it. I’m going to take a great leap of faith.

All of my life I have been a writer. Before I could write I drew stories. I remember telling a story aloud as I would draw a picture…I probably looked like some crazy little kid talking to herself, but I really did that. It just seems logical that I continue on this path.

Family

Chalk Pastel "Family" 2006

When I was in school I had so many teachers urge me to cultivate my writing talent. My beloved English teacher during my senior year told me I should write children’s books.  A history teacher said that my essay writing was beyond college level. Another English teacher said my poetry was phenomenal. Several art teachers told me I should illustrate books. My college English professor suggested I become an English teacher!

I had so much guidance from these important people in my life… To this day I am not sure why I didn’t listen! I just assumed that I would never make it as a writer. I did not believe in myself. Who would want to read anything that I had to write? Well, apparently somebody will read it. After all, you’re reading this right now, aren’t you?

Cheetah Family

Oil Pastel "Cheetah Family" 2010

I guess all it took for me to realize this truth is my blog. You all have helped me find my voice. Thank you all so much for reading, being my friend on here, and supporting me. I probably would not be making this decision if it were not for all of you! 🙂

What does it take to become a published writer? I’m asking for your help. I have no idea where to start! All I have are story ideas and some illustrations to go along with them. I think I want to write children’s books. Do you think this could be a successful venture?

Rose

Colored Pencil "Rose" 2004(?)

Are you a writer or do you know one? What’s the story on starting out? Any advice, ideas, comments, et cetera would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I feel where you’re coming from in this article.

    I’ve always been a writer also(being great at poetry since a kid).

    As far as advice on being published and going pro perse:I can’t offer any advice there.Keep searching though.

    • Thanks for your support! 🙂 Sometimes we need to pursue our talents and dreams, no matter how unrealistic they seem. I must admit that my dream of becoming a published writer is looking more like a possible reality for me. I’m going to try my best to do it!

      • Irony is,becoming a writer is actually tenable.It’s not far fetched at all.

        My brother hopes to become the next best singer/rapper lmao.Now that’s far fetched and unrealistic being that there are a million ppl who believe they have talent.That’s a dream highly unrealistic to materialize(becoming a famous actor or singer).

        Now a published writer who may be featured on a best-sellers list is highly plausible and likely.

      • Thank you. 🙂 That really does mean a lot to me! I know I can do it. 😉

  1. Pingback: So I’m Working on a Book… « Happily Ever After 7.10.11

Leave a Reply

