Ode to Coffee

English: A photo of a cup of coffee. Esperanto...

Image via Wikipedia

Good morning world. (It’s morning where I am, anyway…) I’m awake now. I’ve had my coffee. 😉

This morning I completed my usual half-asleep ritual: fill coffee pot with water, put filter in, measure coffee, and wait as it gurgles into a glorious pot of bittersweet coffee…ahh. Then I began to wonder, why coffee? What’s with the ongoing international obsession? Or worse, where would we be without coffee?

Would we be a bunch of coffee zombies staggering around mumbling, “Cofffeeeeee, coffeffeeeeee….ahuggghh coffeeeeeee…”?

I hope not! Hahah. We would just find a new addiction. Tea, perhaps? Or…chocolate…mmmm….

It’s not the coffee we need. It’s the caffeine. We can fulfill our caffeine addiction with tea and chocolate too. So why have we chosen coffee for so long? I drink coffee because my Mom drank coffee. It just seemed like the right thing to do when you’re a grown up.

Caffeine is a stimulant. That is why so many of us caffeine addicts seek some kind of “fix” in the morning. It stimulates breathing, heart rate, and other nervous system functions. Once consumed caffeine remains in the body for up to 6 hours! Wow. I must have a constant level of caffeine coursing through my veins…haha. I usually drink…ahem…several cups of coffee a day.

So there you have it–my weakness is coffee! And now, a poem for my beloved coffee:

Afrikaans: Geroosterde pitte van die koffiepla...

“Caffeine Mistress”

Oh coffee how I need you

You awaken me each day

With your sweet aroma

And your blissful taste

Drink up a cup

And then I’m up

Ready to start the day!

2011

That’s all I’ve got. Hahah. Enjoy this poem as you sip (or gulp, in my case…) a cup of coffee! I think I’ll go make myself another cup of coffee now…

Coffee cup

Image by doug88888 via Flickr

What’s your morning ritual? Is coffee a part of it, or are you on the caffeine-free wagon?

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on December 16, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There is definitely coffee! Before I became fanatical about my daily fix, I remember seeing an article in National Geographic about the world’s obsession with caffeine. I’m thinking the article was well over ten years old, though, so you might have to do a bit of digging to find it. I think most libraries carry the old issues if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

