My Spider Phobia (AKA Arachnophobia)

A 9 millimeter-long female jumping spider foun...

Image via Wikipedia

Phobias are interesting.

Do you have a phobia? I do. Spiders…yechhh! I hate spiders. I think that is the only thing in this world that I truly hate.

That brings me to a very scary and somewhat entertaining story.

Several weeks ago my husband and I walked down to the horse field to check on the horses one evening. It was after dark. I don’t like the dark (mainly because I can’t see and don’t like tripping  or falling in the mud) so we brought a flashlight. He tried to convince me to leave the flashlight off to “enjoy nature.” It was dark so…I didn’t.

We walked around the field, gave the ponies a pat, admired our new fence, and started walking back to the house. On the way back up my dog, Sage, took off into the woods. I called and called her but she wouldn’t come back. As I shined the flashlight into the woods I noticed a reflection; I thought it was one of our cats’ eyes.

But the eyes were not moving. They were staying in the same spot, which none of my kitties do. Weird. I started to walk towards it to see if it would move. It did not. I yelled for my husband to show him…but he could not see the reflective eyes.

I walked into the woods to the reflection. Whose eyes were reflecting light back at me from over 20 feet away? A spider. WTF!

I freaked out and ran out of the woods. A spider stared me down from over 20 feet away. What kind of spider does that? It scared the bejesus out of me!

Spiders scare me. A lot. What scares you? You might be able to find the official name of your phobia on this list: Do You Have One of These Phobias? | Socyberty. Check it out and let me know!

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

