Love Dogs?

There’s no doubt about it, I love my dogs!

Dogs are important to lots of other families as well. People seem to have dogs for varying reasons. When asked, many say that their dogs are there to protect them. Some breeds of dogs are more apt to physically protect their families while others are more prone to bark and alert their owners.

The difference is this: guard dogs will physically protect their families and homes while watch dogs sound the alarm when something is amiss. Check out Five of The Best Watch Dogs | The Real Owner to see some of the top watch dog breeds.

Sage

My dogs are very protective of our family. Although they are very sweet and friendly animals, their main purpose is for companionship and protection. We have three dogs and my neighbor has three as well.

We have a yellow lab and two German shepherd lab mixes. My neighbor has a great dane, a border collie, and a pit bull rottweiler mix. That means if you come down our driveway you could be met by six large dogs…so you better have good intentions! 😉

Do you love big or little dogs? What kind of dog do you have?

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Animals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I love dogs too. I’ve had several different breeds, but I like larger (45 lbs +) because I love to rough-house with them.

    btw, thanks for the link!!!

  2. Of course! Almost all people love dogs but there are few people abuse their existence. I hate to see battered and abused dogs. They deserve love to just like the way we share love in our family.

    • I know a few people who prefer cats over dogs, but I definitely prefer dogs. I am able to develop a more meaningful bond with my dogs. People who abuse their animals are out there–it makes me sick to see animals that have been abused. One day I want to open an animal rescue for that very reason!

  3. I LOVE big dogs. The bigger, the better, though I do prefer ones that don’t drool. 😛 Once I move to a place that allows pets, I want to get an Irish Wolfhound and some kind of lab/shepherd mix. We always had a retriever of some sort in the house when I was growing up and I really miss having one now.

    • Me too! Little dogs are okay in small doses, so I just visit my mom’s small dogs.

      I don’t mind a little drool every now and then, lol. My lab x German shepherd puppy (Malachite) drools quite a bit. He has already grown much more than expected (over 90 lbs) and he’s only 8 months old! His full sister (Sage) is the same size as the rest of the litter (so far) at around 50-60 lbs.

  4. I enjoyed your article. Our dogs deserve so much of our love because they are always so loyal and loving (even if they don’t always listen & obey). I was reading an interesting news story http://bz9.biz/BraveDogs about a little girl that was saved from a Pitt Bull attack by her little Chihuahua and other fearless acts of love by our pets.

  1. Pingback: A Dog’s Seeing Eye Dog « Happily Ever After 7.10.11

Leave a Reply

