Making it Through Christmas Broke

Ain't Got No Money

I can’t believe it’s that time of the year again.

The holiday season is a special time where we all come together as a family. I love Christmas because I get to come up with unique gift ideas for my friends and family. I love giving to the people I love.

The only problem with that is money. I’m broke! Many of us are trying to make it through the holiday season with considerably less money. It is difficult to do (especially if you have kids).

Since I have no money, I try to make unique gifts for affordable prices. A lot of the gifts I give include homemade breads, cookies, candies, and the like. Throughout the year I save glass jars, containers, and even baskets I come across so that I have options at Christmas. I put the homemade goods into a container and dress it up with a bow and a sprig of holly. Simple and thoughtful!

Some people on my list are very special. For them I try to make an even more unique gift (instead of the mass-produced Christmas cookies). I draw memorable pictures, make ornaments out of plaster, paint original art on canvas, or make jewelry. It has become a tradition to make a new Christmas tree ornament for each of my girls every year.

I try to make as many homemade gifts as I can. For everything else, there’s always eBay.

Powered by Plinky

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on December 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

