5.8 Earthquake in Virginia

A mountain farm along the Skyline Drive in Vir...

Image by The Library of Congress via Flickr

Earthquakes are definitely unsettling. Although we don’t get them as much in Virginia, when we had one in August I found myself very concerned!

That totally freaked me out! I have never experienced something quite like that before, so the quake left me scrambling for the door as I wondered what the heck was going on. I half-expected to see a helicopter landing on my roof or something equally as crazy, but the results are in: 5.8-5.9 Quake in Virginia and the Eastern Seaboard. Apparently, the epicenter was located in Mineral, Virginia.

All of that left me wondering, what is a 5.8 magnitude earthquake? Obviously, we just had one, but what does it mean? Well, I tried to find an explanation.

Check out this article to read more about my experience with the earthquake today (August 23, 2011):

5.8 Earthquake in Virginia | Scienceray.

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on August 23, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

