Rubber Fencing?!

I recently discovered this company that recycles old racecar tires and makes them into fencing material. Intrigued, I scoured their website for weeks until I decided to ask for a free sample of the material. Check out their site for yourself (below)!

We Recycle Tires – Home.

Once we received our sample in the mail, I was even more impressed. The rubber material is durable, strong, and SAFE! There are no sharp edges and I have been unable to think of any way a horse could injure themselves on this fencing material. Plus, it’s recycling–or upcycling?–old tires that would likely end up in a landfill anyway.

Okay, so I must admit I was sold on it at this point…but I had to convince my loving husband. When I checked the prices, my jaw hit the floor. Not only is this material incredibly safe and eco-friendly, but it is cheap to buy and claims to be easy to install!

If you’re in the market for safe, affordable horse fencing, you NEED to look into this product. We put in an order for enough material to fence a small 305′ x 290′ rectangle paddock. Our order will be delivered next week!

You can bet I’ll be posting about installation of this fence. If all goes well, we will continue to use this product! Stay tuned to see how this fencing project goes. :)

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on May 12, 2013, in Horses and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Did you ever put in the rubber fencing? I’m looking at using the rubber fencing and was looking for some feedback from you.

    • Hey Ally! We are still working on installing the fence posts for the fencing. I have the rubber fence material on hand and ready to put up once all of our posts are set. So far, I can say that I am impressed with the strength of the material and I am very excited to finish the fence so we can see what the horses think of it! Check back in a week or two, we may have it up by then. I’m excited to write about the completed project. :) Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’ve read a lot of reviews on the rubber fencing of the past, and they said that horses would pull the strings out of the rubber, ingest it, and the strings would cause illness and sometimes death. Does this product have little strings in it that can be gotten to by a horse? I also heard one horror story about a foal that got a leg tangled in it, and wrapped it around like a tourniquet. My wife and I need to fence our new property in, but we want the safest, long lasting and economical fence (in that order) that we can get. Looking forward to seeing your setup and hearing about your experiences with it.

    • Interesting, I haven’t heard of that! I think if you install the fence properly, horses wouldn’t be able to get tangled up in it. I know ours won’t because we are going to put a couple strands of electric fence on the inside to keep them from pushing on it. They have a lot of respect for the electric fence. There are small strands of kevlar in the fencing material, but that’s because it’s made out of recycled race car tires. I don’t see how a horse could even pull those strands out since they are actually part of the rubber material. I think a bigger concern would be a horse chewing on the rubber material as a whole…but you could easily prevent that by spraying the fence with some bitter barrier spray (or make up a homemade pepper spray to make your fence too spicy for your horses’ tastebuds) or by putting up some electric across the top so they can’t really get to the fence to chew. That would only be a problem if you have a horse with this habit. In fact, any fence isn’t really safe for your horse to chew on. Even pressure treated boards, an industry standard, contain enough arsenic to make your horse sick if they consistently chew it. I’ll definitely do my best to keep you posted on the fencing and provide a good review once we have it all up and ready to go.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

