Poetry, Music, and Good Times

Writing is one of my favorite past times, especially when the weather outside is yucky. Lately I haven’t been writing as much because I can’t justify sitting inside on the computer while the sun is shining out there!

Over the years I have compiled quite a bit of poetry. It seems like I go through phases of writing poetry and stories. The most poetry I ever wrote was during my high school years! I used to make myself write at least one poem every day. Now, I just write poetry when I am compelled to do so.

Recently I began to tinker with the idea of writing song lyrics. Most songs are written in a poetic kind of way because they are arranged in stanzas or “verses” and have some kind of rhyming scheme. My husband and I sometimes sit out on the porch together and work on our “music.” He plays around on the guitar with different melodies and I write while he plays. Eddie is the musically inclined one in the family, so it’s always awesome to sit around and listen to him play. It is so much fun!

Like I mentioned earlier, I haven’t been in the mood to write recently. It’s spring time and there is A LOT of work to do out on the farm. Between planting, fixing fence, and tending to all of the animals, I don’t have much leftover time to write! Once things slow down a bit I’ll probably be writing a lot more regularly again…hopefully! ;)

Powered by Plinky

About Genevieve

Genevieve is a southern gal who loves to write. She is a graduate of Everest College with an AAS in Criminal Investigations. Currently, she works as a freelance writer and volunteers for Central Virginia Horse Rescue by writing their monthly newsletter. If she's not writing, you can bet she's either spending time with friends and family, playing with the horses, crafting, or reading. Interested in having a guest blog appearance? Email sunshineleo05@gmail.com to get in touch! P.S. Subscribe by RSS feed if you are interested in following her creative insanity... ;)

Posted on April 18, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

